Zinio for Libraries: Downloadable Magazines Are Here!

Zinio_WebBanner

The Palm Springs Public Library has added a new service to our already terrific lineup of great things available at the Library, Zinio Downloadable Magazines. We have 51 magazine titles available for download, many with back issues available to check out.  You will find a variety of topics, such as architecture, food, finance, and fitness.  You can read the magazines on your computer, tablet, or other mobile device.  Signing up is a two-step process.  See the full instructions HERE.  The first time you access Zinio, you “Log In” and enter your Palm Springs Public Library card number to confirm that you are a valid user.  Then you “Create New Account.”  By creating the free account through our vendor, RB Digital, you are able to access and read your checked out magazines anywhere, any time.  If you have a Zinio account at another library, such as the Rancho Mirage Library, I recommend that you use the same email address and password you used at Rancho Mirage Library.  Then you can see all your magazines checked out from BOTH libraries.  Once your account is established, you simply visit our website’s Zinio page and Log In.

I have two favorite things about Zinio.  One, I can take multiple magazines anywhere on one device.  Once I read the issue, I simply delete it from my tablet.  I don’t have to worry about being overdue at the Library either.  I do not even have to return the magazines; they are mine to keep for as long as I want.  My second favorite thing about reading digital magazines is that I can zoom in on the text and make it large print, if necessary.  I’m not admitting that I need reading glasses or anything!

I guess I really have THREE favorite things about Zinio.  It’s FREE to Palm Springs Public Library cardholders.  We pay for it so you don’t have to.

DIY

For those of you who do not have electronic devices or would prefer a regular magazine, we have 139 “regular” magazine subscriptions available at the Library.  You can read the latest issue in the Library, but you can check out previous issues for two weeks, just like books or DVDs.

No matter how you prefer to read magazines, visit the Palm Springs Public Library, either in-person or online.  We look forward to serving you!

Food Network

Jeannie Kays

Library Director

Leave a Reply

