Web 2.0

cooltext690515041.jpgHave you heard of Web 2.0? It’s the new way of doing things online that lets you be a part of the Internet like never before.

Web 2.0 is all about being interactive with websites and with other Web users around the world. Instead of just reading webpages that are flat and prepackaged, you can participate by easily modifying sites, or creating your very own.

Social networking is the buzzword for the new Century. Sites like MySpace, Facebook, and countless more aren’t just for kids and teens. Hundreds of thousands of people of all ages and walks of life use social networking sites to keep in touch, find old friends and make new ones, and just to have a good time while using all the new tools the Internet has to offer.

Wikis allow readers to update existing websites with their own wealth of information. Popular sites like Wikipedia have become vast storehouses of cultural knowledge that wouldn’t exist any other way.

Photo sharing sites like Flickr let users display photos easily and quickly. It’s never been easier to see what your friends and relatives are up to, even if they are thousands of miles away.

Tag Clouds offer an easy way to save favorite webpages. Better than old fashioned bookmarks, tagging sites like del.icio.us let you save links to your selected sites on the web. Not only can you then access those links from any Internet point in the world, you can also share your links with others, and see who else has similar interests. That’s also social networking!

Blogs allow interactive Web 2.0 users to tell their own story in an journal format that is updated regularly. Blogs can be personal, news or business centered, or they can be from your public library – like this one you are reading right now!

The Palm Springs Public Library is embracing the Web 2.0 concept by launching a number of new web presences. Take a look at the sites below. Check us out, be our friend, join our groups, look at our pictures, click our favorites. Be interactive and get involved in Web 2.0!

MySpace.com/palmspringslibrary

Facebook.com – join the group, Palm Springs Public Library

Flickr.com/palmspringslibrary

del.icio.us/palmspringslibrary

Be interactive with this blog! Click below to leave a comment on this entry.

20 Responses to Web 2.0

  1. Krystle! says:

    I just can’t tell you how much I’m lovin’ this Web 2.0 stuff! 🙂

  2. SHERYL says:

    THIS IS SO MUCH FUN IM TELLING MY LIBRARY FRIENDS ABOUT THIS

  3. Libjlc says:

    cool, bringing some of us old dinosaurs up to the 21st centuy!

  4. SuziQ says:

    Still wonderin’ and wanderin’ but having fun doing it. Give me time. This ol’ hippie can still be taught!

  5. Chris says:

    Thanks for giving us the hands-on experience and chance to utilize the 2.0 technologies!

  6. Yvonne says:

    It’s a great way to keep up-to-date on…
    Everything!

  7. Jwar says:

    Learning something new everyday…

  8. Barbara says:

    Blogging is something I REALLY want to do. I’d like to have one for staff and one for the public so I can share my ideas and dreams for our Library.

    And I agree, this is SO fun. Wish I had more time to play and thanks to those who became my friends on Facebook.

  9. sastri madugula says:

    Great Blog!

  10. Anna says:

    I am having such fun with 2.0, I can’t believe we are doing this as work! And I now feel a part of the networking world. Thank you Shelly, Julie, and all.

  11. Ann says:

    Great way to learn! Anyone for Web3.0??

  12. Jean says:

    Love what I’m doin’….so much fun!

  13. Zach says:

    I’m getting it. Yippeee!

  14. Zach says:


    It’s SNOTMEEZ!

  15. Sharon says:

    Well, it has taken me a couple of weeks to get started. But, I am beginning to get into it. I think the Social networking was the hardest. But, I can see some uses for blogs in the Youth Room’s furture.

  16. Joy Hastings says:

    I’m finally getting around to doing this. So far, so good! Interesting and fun

  17. Tara says:

    this is a great oppotunity for all of us to work together on this web 2.0 program…. great idea!! and so much fun at the same time!!!

  18. NV says:

    Hey it’s great to be able to put a face to KDES radio personality Danny Fox. Thanks Danny Fox for coming into Palm Springs Public Library and getting a new library card with our new logo. Looking forward to using more of the Web 2.O skills for the Youth Room services.
    It’s FUN!

  19. Estrelita says:

    This is a very interesting and informative site!!! I’m having fun-

  20. indusekhar says:

    If I am allowed a second comment, I would like to say that with this Web 2.0 training, I feel much younger than my years and rejuvenated in proportion as I interact with my youthful colleagues.

Leave a Reply

